Reminder - ICS'97 CFP (Bernd Wender)
10 Dec 1996 12:09:29 -0500

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
Reminder - ICS'97 CFP (1996-12-10)
| List of all articles for this month |

From: (Bernd Wender)
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 10 Dec 1996 12:09:29 -0500
Organization: University of Vienna
Keywords: conference, CFP

| 11th ACM International Conference on Supercomputing |
| Vienna, Austria, Europe, July 7-11, 1997 |
| Sponsored by ACM/SIGARCH |
| |
| WWW - |

                                                              CALL FOR PAPERS

          General Chair: Hans Zima, University of Vienna
          Program Chair: Steve Wallach, HP Convex

          Vice Program Chair - Applications: Harry Wijshoff, Leiden University
          Vice Program Chair - Software: Nikolay Mirenkov, University of Aizu
          Vice Program Chair - Architecture: Jim Smith, University of Wisconsin

          Finance Chair: Günther Vinek, University of Vienna
          Local Arrangements Chair: Gerald Quirchmayr, University of Vienna
          Workshop Chair: Frank Baetke, Hewlett-Packard
          Exhibition Chair: Erich Schikuta, University of Vienna
          Publicity Chair: Bernd Wender, University of Vienna

The ACM International Conference on Supercomputing is a forum for
engineers and scientists throughout the world to exchange ideas and
research results relating to high performance supercomputing
systems. The 11th Conference in the series, ICS'97, will be held in
Vienna, Austria, in July 1997. Vienna is the site of one of the oldest
universities in the world, which was the home of the Vienna Circle and
of Kurt Gödel and, in recent years, became a European Center for
high performance parallel computing. Located in the heart of Europe,
Vienna offers the visitor many attractive sites reflecting its
2000-year history, and provides a wide range of cultural activities.

The conference will include an exhibition and a number of special
sessions, panels, and workshops whose details will be announced
separately. The main focus of ICS'97 will be high performance and
parallel computing systems viewed from the three perspectives of
applications, software, and architectures. Papers describing
significant new research results and experience in the development and
application of such systems are solicited. The Conference Proceedings
will be published by ACM Press.

Topics of interest include, but are not restricted to, the following:

      * Large-scale applications and parallel algorithms;
      * New experimental and commercial systems;
      * Program development tools;
      * Programming languages and optimizing compilers;
      * Operating systems and systems support software;
      * Parallel, multithreaded and high performance computer architectures;
      * Performance modeling and evaluation;
      * Computing in heterogeneous systems.

Authors should submit papers (around 6,000 words maximum), preferably
by e-mail in PostScript format or on paper (5 copies), to the Vice
Program Chair for the appropriate technical area, as follows:

      * Applications: Prof. Harry Wijshoff, Department of Computer Science,
          Leiden University, Niels Bohrweg 1, 2333 CA Leiden, The Netherlands.
          +31-71-527-7055, Fax: +31-71-527-6985,
      * Software: Prof. Nikolay Mirenkov, University of Aizu, Tsuruga,
          Ikki-machi, Aizu-Wakamatsu City, Fukushima, 965-80, Japan. +81-242-37
          2541, Fax: +81-242-37-2553,
      * Architecture: Prof. Jim Smith, Department of Electrical and Computer
          Engineering, University of Wisconsin, 1415 Johnson Drive, Madison, WI
          53706, USA. +1-608-265-5737, Fax: +1-608-265-1267,

Papers must be in the hands of the relevant Vice Program Chair by 16th
December, 1996. Authors will be notified of acceptance/rejection by
10th March, 1997. Final, camera-ready versions of accepted papers will
be required by 14th April, 1997.

For further details, please contact one of the Vice Program Chairs or
the Program Chair, Dr. Steve Wallach, HP Convex, 3000 Waterview
Parkway, P.O. Box 833851 MS ADM, Richardson, TX 75083-3851,
+1-972-497-4250, Fax: +1-972-497-4441,

Program Committee

      * Makoto Amamiya - Kyushu University, Japan
      * Francois Bodin - IRISA/INRIA, Rennes, France
      * Tom Conte - North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, USA
      * George Cybenko - Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH, USA
      * Thomas Fahringer - University of Vienna, Austria
      * Ian Foster - Argonne National Lab., IL, USA
      * Kyle Gallivan - 401 Computer Systems and Research Lab, Urbana, IL, USA
      * Stratis Gallopoulos - University of Patras, Greece
      * Dennis Gannon - Indiana University at Bloomington, IN, USA
      * Hans Michael Gerndt - KFA Juelich, Germany
      * Bill Harrod - Cray Research, Eagan, UK
      * Elias Houstis - Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, USA
      * Hironori Kasahara - Waseda University, Japan
      * Joe Kazuki - Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
      * David Lilja - University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, USA
      * Kathryn McKinley - University of Massachusetts, USA
      * Piyush Mehrotra - ICASE NASA Langley Research Center, Hampton, VA, USA
      * John Mellor-Crummey - Rice University, Houston, TX, USA
      * Alex Nicolau - University of California, Irvine, CA, USA
      * Yoshio Oyanagi - University of Tokyo, Japan
      * Yousef Saad - University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, USA
      * Joel Saltz - University of Maryland, USA
      * David Schneider - Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA
      * Steve Scott - Cray Research, Inc., Chippewa Falls, WI, USA
      * J.P. Singh - Princeton University, Princeton, NJ USA
      * Henk Sips - Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
      * Guri Sohi - University of Wisconsin-Madison, WI, USA
      * Clemens August Thole - GMD, Sankt Augustin, Germany
      * Josep Torrellas - Univ. of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, IL, USA
      * Mateo Valero - Universidad Politecnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain
      * Stamatis Vassiliadis - Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
      * Alex Veidenbaum - University of Illinois-Chicago, IL, USA
      * Shlomo Weiss - Tel Aviv University, Israel
      * Lex Wolters - Leiden University, The Netherlands
      * Pen-Chung Yew - University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, USA

A World Wide Web page is mounted at
with up-to-date information on the conference.

<a href="">Bernd Wender</a>,
Univ. of Vienna, Institute for Software Technology and Parallel Systems.

Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.