CFP for HPFC 1995, Denver, CO (Bob Pizzi)
Thu, 13 Oct 1994 21:10:06 GMT

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
CFP for HPFC 1995, Denver, CO (1994-10-13)
| List of all articles for this month |

Newsgroups: comp.compilers,comp.lang.functional,comp.parallel
From: (Bob Pizzi)
Keywords: conference, CFP, functional
Organization: Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Date: Thu, 13 Oct 1994 21:10:06 GMT

                                        Announcement and Call for Papers

                    Conference on High Performance Functional Computing

                                                  Executive Tower Inn
                                                            Denver, Co

                                                      April 9-11, 1995

                                                          Sponsored by

                                  Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
                                                (US Department of Energy)

                                                      Co-sponsored by

                                            Colorado State University

Functional computing has proven to be an efficient and workable paradigm for
extracting high performance and enhancing portability in parallel programs. We
are interested in the current state of the art and future research directions
which emphasize high performance computing and its application to real-world
problems. We can position functional computing as the best choice for
exploiting parallelism on existing and future platforms for the rest of this
and the next century.

To provide for the future of functional computing, we must investigate areas
such as the incorporation of object-oriented features into a hybrid programming
paradigm and efficient utilization of architectural features of massively
parallel, distributed memory, communications-bound and multi-threaded
platforms. These topics are just a few of the many research areas that will
provide the next steps in the evolution of functional computing.

                                                              CALL FOR PAPERS

We invite submissions of papers and posters from interested parties.
Possible topics include (but are not limited to) the following:

* languages
* compilers
* debuggers
* programming tools
* multithreaded architectures
* applications
* high-performance architectures
* tools to support mixed-language programming


December 1, 1994 - Abstract Deadline
                Extended abstracts of five to ten pages (6000 words) in length.
                Abstracts for posters may be shorter.

January 15, 1995 - Acceptance Notification
Acceptance letters send out to authors. Formatting guidelines
for the final submission will be supplied along with the
acceptance notice.

February 21, 1995 - Final Deadline
Camera-ready copy of final paper. Published proceedings will
be available at the conference.

Send abstracts and final paper to:

Dr. Wim Bohm
High Performance Functional Computing
Department of Computer Science
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523
Voice: (303) 491-7595

Electronic submission of abstract and/or final copy in TeX, LaTeX, Microsoft
WORD or postscript format is acceptable and encouraged.

                                      Accommodations and Transportation

A future annoucement will detail the conference accommodations.

                                                  Conference Officers

General Chair: John Feo (
                                Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

General Vice-Chair: R. R. Oldehoeft (
                                          Colorado State University / Tera Computers

Program Chair: Wim Bohm (
                                Colorado State University

Treasurer: Judy Michels (
                        Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Arrangements: Denise Hallman (
                                Colorado State University

                                                        Program Committee

Arvind Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Lennart Augustsson Chalmers University
Wim Bohm Colorado State University
Dorothy Bollman University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez
Jack Dennis Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Greg Egan Swinborne Institute of Technology
John Feo Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Guang Gao McGill University
Jean-Luc Gaudiot University of Southern California
John Gurd University of Manchester
Robert Hiromoto University of Texas, San Antonio
Patrick Miller Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Walid Najjar Colorado State University
R. R. Oldehoeft Colorado State University and Tera Computers
Rex Page University of Oklahoma, Norman
Rinus Plasmeijer University of Nijmegen
Andrew Weldleborn University of Adelaide


Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.