POPL 08 Call for Papers (San Francisco, Jan 08)

Fri, 08 Jun 2007 22:05:57 -0700

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
POPL 08 Call for Papers (San Francisco, Jan 08) sorin.lerner@gmail.com (2007-06-08)
| List of all articles for this month |

From: sorin.lerner@gmail.com
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: Fri, 08 Jun 2007 22:05:57 -0700
Organization: Compilers Central
Keywords: conference, CFP
Posted-Date: 09 Jun 2007 10:21:49 EDT

* on *
* Principles of Programming Languages *
* *
* Thursday 10--Saturday 12 January 2008 *
* San Francisco, California, USA *
* *
* Call for Papers *
* *
* http://www.cs.ucsd.edu/popl/08 *

NEW: POPL 2008 encourages the submission of pearls, which are elegant
essays that illustrate an idea, often by developing a short
program. Please see below for details.

Important dates

    Submission 11:00 PM Apia Time Monday 16 July 2007
    Author response 11:00 PM Apia Time Monday 17 September 2007--
                                                11:00 PM Apia Time Wednesday 19 September 2007
    Notification Friday 28 September 2007
    Camera ready Thursday 1 November 2007
    Conference Thursday 10--Saturday 12 January 2008


The annual Symposium on Principles of Programming Languages is a forum
for the discussion of all aspects of programming languages and
systems, with emphasis on how principles underpin practice. Both
theoretical and experimental papers are welcome, on topics ranging
from formal frameworks to experience reports.

Submissions on a diversity of topics are sought, particularly ones
that identify new research directions. POPL 2008 is not limited to
topics discussed in previous symposia. Authors concerned about the
appropriateness of a topic may communicate by electronic mail with the
program chair prior to submission.

Pearls and Advice to Authors

Explaining a known idea in a new way may make as strong a contribution
as inventing a new idea. We encourage the submission of pearls:
elegant essays which illustrate an idea, often by developing a short
program. There is no formal separation of categories, but a pearl
should be labelled as such in its abstract. All papers, whether pearl
or otherwise, will be judged on their correctness, significance,
novelty, clarity, elegance, and beauty.

Pearls have long been an accepted form of submission for the Journal
of Functional Programming (JFP) and the International Conference on
Functional Programming (ICFP). Advice on writing pearls can be
found in the ICFP 2006 Call for Papers:


Each paper, pearl or otherwise, should explain its contributions in
both general and technical terms, identifying what has been
accomplished, explaining why it is significant, and comparing it with
previous work. Authors should strive to make their papers
understandable to a broad audience. Advice on writing technical
papers can be found on the SIGPLAN Author Information page:


Unlike in 2007, there are no special categories of short and long

Submission guidelines

Submissions must be filed at the web site by 11:00 PM Monday 16 July,
Apia, Samoa time. Some equivalents to this time are

        * San Francisco: 3:00 AM (17 July)
        * New York: 6:00 AM (17 July)
        * Chicago: 5:00 AM (17 July)
        * London: 11:00 AM (17 July)
        * Paris: Noon (17 July)
        * Hong Kong: 6:00 PM (17 July)
        * UTC: 10:00 AM (17 July)

For other time-zones/locations, see the Worldclock at the following


Submissions will be carried out electronically via the Web,
at the Submission URL:


Authors should submit an abstract of at most 300 words and a full
paper of no more than 12 pages (including bibliography and
appendices). Submissions that do not meet these guidelines will not
be considered. The submission deadline and length limitations are

Submissions should be in standard ACM SIGPLAN conference format: two
columns, nine-point font on a ten-point baseline, with pages 20pc
(3.33in) wide and 54pc (9in) tall, with a column gutter of 2pc
(0.33in). Detailed formatting guidelines, along with a LaTex class
file and template, are available on the SIGPLAN Author Information


You need not include categories or keywords in the submission, though
you are welcome to do so. The ACM copyright notice is not required of
submissions, only of accepted papers.

Papers must be submitted in PDF format and printable on
US Letter size paper. Individuals for which this requirement is a
hardship should contact the program chair at least one week before the

Submitted papers must adhere to the SIGPLAN Republication Policy:


Concurrent submissions to other journals, conferences, workshops, or
similar forums of publication are not allowed.

Authors of accepted papers will be required to sign the ACM copyright
form. Proceedings will be published by ACM Press.

Author Response Period

Authors will be given a 48-hour period (from 11:00 PM Apia Time Monday
17 September to 11:00 PM Apia Time Wednesday 19 September) to read and
respond to the reviews of their papers before the PC meeting. Details
of the response process will be announced by e-mail a few days

Student Attendees

Students who have a paper accepted for the conference are offered
student membership of SIGPLAN free for one year. As members of
they may apply for travel fellowships from the PAC fund.

Conference Chair

George Necula
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department
University of California
Berkeley, CA 94720, USA

Program Chair

Philip Wadler
School of Informatics, University of Edinburgh
James Clerk Maxwell Building, King's Buildings
Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 3JZ

Program Committee

Amal Ahmed, Toyota Technological Institute, Chicago
Lars Birkedal, ITU Copenhagen
Guy Blelloch, Carnegie-Mellon University
Gilad Bracha, Cadence Design Systems
Byron Cook, Microsoft Research
Thierry Coquand, Chalmers University
Vincent Danos, Paris VII
Robby Findler, University of Chicago
Neal Glew, Intel
Haruo Hosoya, University of Tokyo
Matthew Hennessy, University of Sussex
Ranjit Jhala, University of California, San Diego
Tobias Nipkow, Technische Universitat Munchen
James Noble, Victoria University of Wellington
Sanjiva Prasad, IIT Delhi
Zhong Shao, Yale University
Yannis Smaragdakis, University of Oregon
Eijiro Sumii, Tohoku University
Peter Thiemann, Universitat Freiburg
Peter Van Roy, Universite catholique de Louvain
Jan Vitek, Purdue University
Nobuko Yoshida, Imperial College London
Steve Zdancewic, University of Pennsylvania

Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.